Soo..where do I start

desiballa21

Soo..where do I start

Postby desiballa21 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:35 pm

Hey all, I'm currently a second semester sophomore. I haven't really done any LSAT prep yet but advisors have told me to start getting the ball rolling. What is the absolute first thing I need to do? I've heard that I need to take a practice LSAT without any help in test-conditions just to see where I am... How do I go about doing this? Just print an LSAT and take it and time myself?

NJcollegestudent

Re: Soo..where do I start

Postby NJcollegestudent » Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:40 pm

First off, its nice to see another Indian on the board. You should take a cold diagnostic and see what your score is, and then begin to purchase the practice exams, and other prep books, such as the bibles (good for LR and LG, RC not so sure as i have never used it). Also, pace your self and you should see improvement. I scored somewhere in the mid 140's on my diagnostic and now i have improved to a 156.

sophia.olive

Postby sophia.olive » Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:42 pm

I would not do that. I think it just discourages you and makes a large increase seem more substantial than it is weakening you motivation to go further. I would study the LR bible first, take notes disect the problems they give you. Then get one PT and go through it very slowly looking a trends etc.. Start taking timed tests around three months before the actual.

Taking a random test you never studied for is going do nothing for you in regards to improving your ability it will only effect your emotional attitude toward the test which is not productive, and is likely to have a negative impact.