Does scoring within ones high range on the LSAT take luck?

masterthearts

Does scoring within ones high range on the LSAT take luck?

Postby masterthearts » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:12 pm

3.85 LSAC GPA from an Ivy, URM, bilingual
This is it. I studied my butt off this summer for the lsat and went from a 153 (pre-Kaplan course) to anywhere from a 159-164 post course. I studied my brains out and did a lot of studying on my own with the Bible books,etc. Over the 5-6 practice exams I took, I didn't score lower than a 159. But my hiighest was only 164.
The lsat will probably say these scores are not statistically significant, but for the schools, I'm sure it will make me or break me.
Well, should I hope I get lucky on the actual test and get my 164?
Anyone think I can get into the lower of the T-14?

bk1

Re: Does scoring within ones high range on the LSAT take luck?

Postby bk1 » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:17 pm

I don't know the particulars of your studying and what you are doing now but I feel you might be suffering because of the different methods you have taken. IIRC, the Powerscore Bibles and Kaplan give differing methodology when it comes to the LSAT and if you haven't chosen one over the other, or synthesized your own, this could be hurting you.

Scoring on the high end of your range often comes down to how well you deal with test day nerves, imo.

EDIT: With a 160 you definitely have a shot at the lower T14. Higher than that opens CCN and I think possibilities of HYS as you get closer to 170.

Jeffort

Postby Jeffort » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:22 pm

masterthearts wrote:3.85 LSAC GPA from an Ivy, URM, bilingual
This is it. I studied my butt off this summer for the lsat and went from a 153 (pre-Kaplan course) to anywhere from a 159-164 post course. I studied my brains out and did a lot of studying on my own with the Bible books,etc. Over the 5-6 practice exams I took, I didn't score lower than a 159. But my hiighest was only 164.