Page 1 of 1

Game question regarding rules

Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:45 pm
by e10
I just finished the Sept 2006 test and had a question regarding the first game or any game in general that has this rule:

Two of the last rules state that Italian cannot be shown unless Norwegian is the next day and same goes for the next rule with Greek and Italian.

However, is it possible that Italian/Greek can go last or is it impossible since N always must go after I and I must always go after G, which does not allow them to go last?

Re: Game question regarding rules

Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:55 pm
by lparker
I think that's the June 2006 test if I'm not mistaken?

You're correct. G cannot be in the last position because it can't be shown at all unless I is shown after G. The same for I... I cannot be in the last position because N must be shown after I.

Re: Game question regarding rules

Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:59 pm
by Cambridge LSAT
Here are the second and third rules diagrammed:
2: I → IN
3: G → GI

Since the third rule, if triggered, triggers the second rule, you can combine them:
G → GIN

Neither I nor G can be last, since each one must be followed by at least one other variable.

Re: Game question regarding rules

Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 4:55 pm
by e10
And N can go first, right? bc it doesnt rely on anything

Re: Game question regarding rules

Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:33 pm
by tomwatts
Yes, N can go first, in general.