Game question regarding rules

e10
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:03 am

Game question regarding rules

Postby e10 » Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:45 pm

I just finished the Sept 2006 test and had a question regarding the first game or any game in general that has this rule:

Two of the last rules state that Italian cannot be shown unless Norwegian is the next day and same goes for the next rule with Greek and Italian.

However, is it possible that Italian/Greek can go last or is it impossible since N always must go after I and I must always go after G, which does not allow them to go last?

lparker
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:14 am

Re: Game question regarding rules

Postby lparker » Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:55 pm

I think that's the June 2006 test if I'm not mistaken?

You're correct. G cannot be in the last position because it can't be shown at all unless I is shown after G. The same for I... I cannot be in the last position because N must be shown after I.

Cambridge LSAT
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: Game question regarding rules

Postby Cambridge LSAT » Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:59 pm

Here are the second and third rules diagrammed:
2: I → IN
3: G → GI

Since the third rule, if triggered, triggers the second rule, you can combine them:
G → GIN

Neither I nor G can be last, since each one must be followed by at least one other variable.

e10
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:03 am

Re: Game question regarding rules

Postby e10 » Tue Sep 14, 2010 4:55 pm

And N can go first, right? bc it doesnt rely on anything

tomwatts
Posts: 1551
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:01 am

Re: Game question regarding rules

Postby tomwatts » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:33 pm

Yes, N can go first, in general.




Return to “LSAT Prep and Discussion Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: proteinshake, sethnoorzad and 15 guests