Advice - move test to December?

davidr1534

Advice - move test to December?

Postby davidr1534 » Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:02 am

I have been preparing for the October LSAT for a few months now, and have been reaching into the 170s on the last few prep tests. However my passport and permanent residency card were recently stolen (I am a UK citizen) and now have no government issued card to show at the test center so it is pretty clear that I can't attend. My question is - how much of a disadvantage is it to take it in December both in terms of getting in to schools and getting money? Thoughts/comments/random abuse welcome.

Thanks,
David

lifestooquick

Re: Advice - move test to December?

Postby lifestooquick » Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:05 am

That sucks! I'm so sorry! Is there anyway to get a rush delivery on new documentation? I'm guessing no since governments aren't known for being speedy :(

Unfortunately, I'm pretty sure taking the December test puts you at a disadvantage because they've already given out so many acceptances and scholarships by the time you'll be able to get your application in.

whymeohgodno

Postby whymeohgodno » Fri Sep 10, 2010 12:21 pm

Don't they also accept credit cards as acceptable ID (if there is a picture on them?)

lawyeah

Postby lawyeah » Fri Sep 10, 2010 12:34 pm

Wow...sorry. That really sucks for you. I can imagine how you feel. I'm a permanent resident as well. I would have a mental breakdown if some idiot stole my passport and green card. Unfortunately, credit cards are not a valid source of id for the lsat. You might want to take a look at the list of acceptable sources of id on the lsac website. Good luck!

Jeffort

Postby Jeffort » Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:27 pm

That sucks that somebody stole your important ID/documents. I'm a US citizen and when I lost my DL a few years ago I couldn't even buy smokes or beer until I got the replacement. That really sucked!