How I went from a 154 to a 171

ad86

Postby ad86 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:43 pm

I know my story may be unique, but I just wanted to let everyone know how I was able to go from a cancel, 154 to a 171.

Just a little bit of a background: I graduated in January 2009 from a decent UG (top 30-40) with a nice GPA (3.78, magna cum laude, distinction and Phi Beta Kappa). I knew from my sophomore year that I wanted to attend law school and started everything to help me prepare. I worked hard in school to get good grades, got to know my professors and had them write my rec letters even before I graduated. I had intended to apply for the class entering this fall (2010). I took four months to study for the June 2009 LSAT. I turned down a job offer and lived at home (in big city) to study for the LSAT. I practiced in the165-170ish range and had a panic attack during the June 2009 exam. I ended up canceling and was so pissed at myself but told myself that I could take it again in October. I got a job that I absolutely hated, but it paid a decent salary and the thing that kept me going was that I was going to rock the LSAT in October and apply to a t10 law school. My life become wrapped around LSAT studying and the only option in my mind was Law School.

The night before the September 2009 LSAT, I could not sleep one bit. I ended up having another anxiety attack before the test and went to the test center with only 2 hours of sleep. Despite the fact that I knew I did not perform my best, I kept my score with the hope of scoring a 160 and getting into a top 50. I got my test score, a 154 and then became depressed. I felt inadequate and that I spent 9 months studying non-stop for a score that was a point higher than my diagnostic. I felt like a complete failure. Don’t judge me, but I ended up taking some medication because I was depressed (it was also because I hated my job and just felt like things were not working out)