Awesome Study-Motivator...Tutoring!

LSATclincher

Awesome Study-Motivator...Tutoring!

Postby LSATclincher » Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:09 pm

Hello everyone. Well, I've been prepping for the LSAT for almost a year now. Obviously, I haven't been consistent over that time: There was a period where I simply needed a break from it all. However, I gained some awesome motivation by tutoring. I posted an ad on Craigslist offering tutoring. My pitch was clear:

Cheap rate: $10/Hr (All other private tutoring is $50-$100+)

Tangible gain: I improved my score from a 136 initial diagnostic to a score in the mid-high 150's.

Experience w/ failure: During my time studying, I learned the mistakes I made. So, I sought to help another student refrain from making such mistakes.

Well, my pitch worked. Someone replied to my post, and I've been tutoring my student for about 2-3 months now. Aside from making a little bit of spending money, the tutoring has forced me to focus on the LSAT. I've created typed lessons for my student with tips and notes for each section of the LSAT. I've provided practice problems for my student, which forced me to complete the problems myself. This whole experience has increased my LSAT knowledge and score. Particularly, I've figured out the Logical Reasoning section. Some sort of light bulb clicked in my head. I have discovered some obvious trends in LR.

Overall, I'm excited because we haven't even started Reading Comp. I'm convinced my motivation to teach my student the RC material will help me discover tidbits formerly unknown. I understand I did get a bit lucky by getting a reply to my post. But, I think it's worth a try for anyone, especially if you have improved significantly your score. There are many kids out there who simply cannot do well on this test, and they are looking for any help necessary. The problem with test prep companies and tutors is price. If you can enter the market with a cheaper rate, it could work!