Anyone else get below a 130 on their first LSAT?

Bluben

Anyone else get below a 130 on their first LSAT?

Postby Bluben » Thu Jul 01, 2010 4:39 pm

Background - I wasnt enjoying engineering, did some reading on being a patent lawyer and decided i'd give it a try. Didnt prep at all, signed up for a Kaplan class, and on my diagnostic scored something in the 120s. I obviously knew nothing about the LSAT when i came in. I didnt even bubble in the questions i didnt have time for because I was used to the scoring method of having wrong answers counting against you in engineering. After taking the kaplan course, I was at the 145 mark on diagnostics. I didnt really devote enough time into it because i was still focusing on my engineering career even though i didnt like it.

3 years later and only doing semi intense studying, I studied as my work schedule permitted and did a total of 16 PT within a few months leading up to this past June, I finally took the LSAT and scored a 156. My highest PT before the test was a 165, and I had a 162 and 164 sneak in other tests too. I did the best immediately after reading the Powerscore LR bible. I ended up getting too nervous during the actual test and choked on the reading comp amongst other places. I also ran out of time for logic games so I guessed D all the way down for six questions and missed almost all those plus only one other i had actually worked on.