Should I Retake?

WhatSarahSaid

Should I Retake?

Postby WhatSarahSaid » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:12 am

I've been going back and forth on this since Friday, so I want to organize my thoughts and hopefully get some advice. Any feedback is appreciated.

I got a 173 on the June '10 test, my first time sitting for the LSAT. I studied for a few hours a week from February through April (LG Bible and the such), and then studied for about 4-5 hours a day for the last five weeks. I took around 20 PTs, averaging about a 175 and, for the last eight or so, averaging a 177 and hitting 180 twice. Nearly all of those PTs were in the 40-59 range. On the actual test, I got -1 LR, -1 LG, and -6 RC, and the RC was a shocker because that's generally my best section (I often hit -0 on it in practice). I was rushed on time on some sections; I did the mulch/stones game in the last three minutes, and I'm still shocked that worked out, and I had to rush through the bees passage in RC in 5 minutes because of spending too much time on the last passage, but all of my RC errors were spread out anyway.

My LSDAS GPA is a 3.80. My dream cycle ultimately has me choosing between a good amount of money at CCN (especially Chicago) or a Harvard acceptance, but I'm pretty sure that I'm a couple LSAT points shy of either of those possibilities, especially the latter.

I have two problems with retaking. For one, I'm not really sure what to study (any feedback here is appreciated too). I guess I can do some of the first 40 PTs, but I can't see those being terribly useful. I'll do a bunch of LG drills just to stay sharp, but that wasn't the problem on test day. The other problem is that I'm very worried about doing worse. I'm not ashamed of a 173, and -8 is a pretty small margin of error. It's obviously not inconceivable that I get around a 170 on the October LSAT, and while that probably wouldn't hurt my cycle too much with an addendum, it's not what I want. I don't mind putting in the study time.