Test prep advice - Unique situation!

nchls23

Test prep advice - Unique situation!

Postby nchls23 » Sun Jun 27, 2010 1:09 pm

So, I took the June 2010 LSAT after studying on my own for about two months, taking about 20 real practice tests and using PR's general LSAT prep book, as well as their logic specific prep book. I didn't really bother with reviewing reading comprehension, because I never got more than 0-2 wrong on that section, but focused on arguments and logic, as they were the most difficult sections for me (logic more so than arguments).

The first test I ever took, before I had even opened a book, I scored a 165. As I studied, my score dipped a bit, down to about a 161-162 while I tried to learn and practice the techniques in the book. Honestly, I didn't find their tips on arguments that helpful, but their strategies for logic games were enormously helpful. Essentially, my method of prep consisted of taking 1-2 practice tests a week while taking days to work on specific sections, and gradually increased the number of practice tests I took per week until that was more or less all I was doing. By the end of the two months, I was scoring without fail between a 168-172.

I got my June 2010 LSAT score and I got a 160. I was shocked, not only had I never scored that low on a practice test before, but it was a full five points lower than the first test I had ever taken. The worst part about it was that after having taken so many practice tests, I felt as though I could pretty accurately judge how well I had done on a particular test while taking it, and felt good about the test coming out of it.