Retake for a chance at Berkeley?

gothamist01

Retake for a chance at Berkeley?

Postby gothamist01 » Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:46 am

I am a reverse splitter. I have a 3.75 GPA with great softs (undergrad grants/honors, 5 years work experience in a unique field, published writing, etc).

On my LSAT practice tests, which I've been doing since September 2009 (so much so that I have done many twice), I have been scoring in the 172 to 178 range. I was a philosophy major, which normally puts me at ease with logic and argumentation.

Thing is, I have had an extremely difficult time with LSAT anxiety. I attempted the December 2009 LSAT, to apply to school schools in the last cycle, but had to leave and cancel due to a severe panic attack.

Then, this June, I was finally able to sit through a test, but scored a 162. I was shocked at the score, mostly, because I could not for the life of me remember a single thing that occurred during the 5 hours of a test.

I have no history of problems with standardized tests (1460 on my SAT), but I'm feeling a lot of pressure here. I'm female, 27 years old, and feel as if now is basically it for me since I want to have a family, too. My anxiety may be eased by therapy, but the fact of the matter is I've been going at this for almost a year, it's hurting my performance at work, and I'm so utterly exhausted.

I'm wondering how, or if, to present this to admissions committees. I'm also wondering if a retake is worth it, given what's at stake. Berkeley is my top choice school and in theory I'll do absolutely anything to get in, but I wonder if they'll look fondly on a 162 and then, say, a 165 or 167 (I have to be realistic here, my performance on test days in the past have been awful). I've already signed up for an October retake. I can do better, but at this point I feel traumatized.

Help, please.

KMaine

Re: Retake for a chance at Berkeley?

Postby KMaine » Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:20 am