Please help suggestions needed

washin34

Please help suggestions needed

Postby washin34 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:59 pm

I'm currently on section practice. LG is currently the only section that I am timing because ,for some reason, I am comprehending the questions easier and thus moving much faster than LR and RC. My goal is -5 or less on the entire section. Although finishing in time isn't a factor, I am -6 at best. Today I got a -9. I scored -1 on game one, -2 on game 2 and 3, and -4 on game 4. I had 5 minutes and like 40 seconds left when I started game 4. I felt a little rushed. I went back after I finished to see where I went wrong. I was able to figure the questions without much thought. This happens very often when I'm studying LG. How can I prevent myself from making mistakes not because of lack of conceptual understanding, but from not thoroughly thinking out the questions because of the timing factor on the LSAT.

I usually guess on problems that I feel "stuck" on. I do so because I'm afraid it will waste time to sit and figure the problem. On the section I did today, I guessed on 8 questions and got 7 wrong. Should I keep practicing games until I can get -5 or less or should I implement a specific strategy to help me with this timing thing
Last edited by washin34 on Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

washin34

Re: Help suggestions needed [b].Timing[/b]

Postby washin34 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 8:47 pm

Please help :D

washin34

Re: Help suggestions needed [b].Timing[/b]

Postby washin34 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:00 pm

got it..... do you have anything relevant to the topic?

yinz

Re: Please help suggestions needed

Postby yinz » Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:05 pm

Nightrunner wrote: practice a section of LG, every day or every other day, at 30 minutes/section.

When I got stuck on the LSAT (and had to go back and fix a mistake), I was very glad to be used to 30 minutes/section.

Make three copies of every LG problem, do them all.

Hey-O