Law School at 42 - is it Practical?

IT_GUY

Law School at 42 - is it Practical?

Postby IT_GUY » Fri Jun 18, 2010 3:57 pm

I am an IT consultant with IT technical and management background. I have a master’s degree in Biotechnology from Tennessee. I am good at what I do. I am 41 years old now. Being an immigrant worker, I have had my shares of sitting at home without pay. Even though I can earn well, the money has not stayed because there are always some phases where I have to wait for the next contract and during this waiting period there is no salary. A lot of my savings were gone in 2009 because of being without pay waiting for the next contract. Just to give an idea, I qualify for 90 K – 115 K jobs in Wisconsin area. Of Course, the companies that made such offers were not doing so well and they have had a lot of downsizing. I had interviewed for them in 2009.

No matter how good you are, for the best jobs that are available, only green card or US citizenship holders qualify. After going through all these hardships for procuring a green card, which is going on well now, I have this developed a strong urge to be an immigration attorney. I am driven by my personal experience to help other very qualified immigrants as an immigration attorney. But, I have to face reality as well. Realistically, if I start preparing for LSAT now, I will very likely be in law school on a part time basis at 42 and graduate when I am 45 years.

What are the prospects for lawyers starting their law career at 45?

To be practical, I need to know what kind of salaries I can expect. Is it good idea to practice law in 2 or more areas like immigration, corporate and real estate law? I just need to make money while I am helping as an immigration attorney.

What are the pros and cons of starting a law career at 45?

What are some of the good practice areas for someone in my situation?

Do my masters in Biotechnology and my 14 years IT experience help in any way in my law career?