LSAT study plan. PLEASE HELP! Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
nbhatia

New

LSAT study plan. PLEASE HELP!

Post by nbhatia » Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:05 pm

Hey guys, first of all, thank you to anyone who takes the time to read this. I am canadian student who plans to take the lsat in december. I have NO lsat experience what soever : I hate, hate, hate RC, so lost in logic games, but LR is a bit better. I basically have 3 big questions:
1) When do i start studying, and how often?
2) How do i study?
3) What materials are best?

1) I started an 8 month coop in may, and it goes till december. I decided to write my Lsat in december because I wanted to enjoy atleast 3 months of my summer. I am thinking the best time would be to start would be in mid August (too late?) Remember that I work 40 hours a week and I am home around 5:30 everyday. My plan was to study twice during the week, and then on Sat/Sun (so 4 times a week, ramp it up for last month). (pros/cons? too little?)

2) Since I have no Intro to this stuff, I have no idea how to start. Wheter I should take a course first, then do a bunch of books, then practice exams. Or a general book first, then the power score bibles, then exams? Or any combination of book/bibles/course/PT's??? I was thinking a genreal book first ot get used to the concepts, than the powerscore bibles, then lots of PT's (altough I heard RC bible was no good). I really want to use my time wisely.

3) What Courses? I have Kaplan, Princeton, Renert (canadian), Oxford (?) to choose from.
What Books/bibles? With numerous books, It's hard to pick the ones that would be most beneficial, specially at my stage (not knowing anything).

This is just a generalization of what is going on in my head, so please say something if it is important to know, or maybe something you wish you knew before you started studying. I can give more info if needed. Thanks again!