Should I try a prep course?

nonpareilpearl

Should I try a prep course?

Postby nonpareilpearl » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:01 pm

Some background: I have a ~3.17 LSDAS GPA. I really need to be in the 170s, preferably in the 175+ range. Right now I'm PTing on the low-mid 160s. I also know that I have ADD, so focus is a bit of a problem. When I was in school I was able to work around that problem, but I seem to have lost my finesse for that during the two years since I graduated. On the bright side, I feel like I'm missing or struggling with the same types of questions. On the down side I can't seem to consistently fix the problems I am having with those question types.

I think that a prep course, e.g. forced focus, could be helpful. Either that or a one-on-one tutor. Does anyone have any advice? Did anyone use (or is anyone using) a prep course? If so, which were you looking at/which did you choose and what is/was your experience?

Thanks for any advice :D
Last edited by nonpareilpearl on Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

3|ink

Re: Should I try a prep course?

Postby 3|ink » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:04 pm

I also have ADD. My suggestion to you would be to find the most boring book you can and read it until your eyeballs fall out. I read Smith's 'Wealth of Nations'. It helped.

nonpareilpearl

Postby nonpareilpearl » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:06 pm

Thanks for the suggestion! :)

3|ink

Postby 3|ink » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:15 pm

Oh, but to answer your real question - prep courses vary by the individual. I have ADD. I don't think my prep course really helped me. It isn't their fault. They simply aren't designed to cater to ADD folks like myself, and I simply didn't have the will power to overcome my own shortcomings.

Your best chance at a good score is definitely with a course. Take TM if you want every answer ever given. Otherwise, take Princeton Review. I hear they're decent.

nonpareilpearl

Postby nonpareilpearl » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:51 pm