NYC prep course suggestions? 161 diag after 10 hrs ind study

sgtgrumbles

NYC prep course suggestions? 161 diag after 10 hrs ind study

Postby sgtgrumbles » Tue May 25, 2010 4:03 pm

After doing some very light studying on my own (10 hours of studying a recycled 2007 Kaplan book and one at-home practice exam, on which I scored 162) I scored a 161 on a diagnostic I took at a Kaplan center. I'm taking the October LSAT and won't be able to hunker down until I get back from vacation on June 6th. I'm not great at self-motivating, so I think I need a prep course. I also work 40 hours a week and spend a decent amount of time with my girlfriend and friends, so I can't spend 40 hours a week studying or anything. I graduated from NYU with a 3.63 and am shooting for top 10 schools. My goal is 172+.

Any suggestions for prep courses?

I considered various Kaplan courses but I see they're getting a bad rap among TSLers. I was thinking about Kaplan Advance, since I scored high enough to place into it. One of my concerns with the course, though, is that I still haven't learned the fundamentals of the LSAT. I'm not one of those people who tackled all the Bibles on my own and THEN took a diagnostic; I took the diagnostic pretty cold. I worry that Kaplan Advance may dive right into the most difficult questions, when I still don't know the best ways to map all the logic games.

Power Score seems to be getting good reviews on TLS; anybody with similar circumstances have experience with PS?

Also, is there any comprehensive prep course review thread on TLS? I didn't see anything in the Stickies or FAQ.

Thanks in advance.

JWicker10

Re: NYC prep course suggestions? 161 diag after 10 hrs ind study

Postby JWicker10 » Tue May 25, 2010 7:15 pm

Take TestMasters.

bp colin

Postby bp colin » Tue May 25, 2010 9:32 pm