Why can't I improve my LSAT Score?

What should I do?

Poll ended at Sun Jun 13, 2010 11:43 pm

Continue to take the June Test.
9%
No-Show the June test and simply study for the October Test.
20%
Take a prep course through PS before the October Test.
32%
Keep studying 4+ hrs/day until the June test.
9%
Take a break from studying for a couple days.
20%
Give up on the idea of going to Law school altogether.
9%

Total votes: 44

fmacaluso

Why can't I improve my LSAT Score?

Postby fmacaluso » Mon May 24, 2010 11:43 pm

I'm an engineer working in my field for 5 years. I'm now 27 and want to go to Law School for Fall 2010 enrollment. I've registerd for and have been studying for the June test for 5 solid weeks now, not scoring any higher than a 150 on my practice tests. With my 3.2GPA, I don't think I have a shot at many schools and I am beyond discouraged at my stagnant, depressing score.

WHAT AM I DOING WRONG?!? I'm taking practice test after practice test. I've been studying minimum 4hrs per day on top of my 45hr/week job. I'm familiar with the question types and the sections and timing...etc. I've tried different strategies. I've purchased/read the LGB & LRB, but I simply can't grasp the concepts.

It seems that I'm reading questions & passages 3x to understand them and then apply it to the correct answer choice. I've tried adderall to gain concentration, but it doesn't seem to be helping.

Logic Games are easy to me. I have been doing well with them, but my RC & LR SUCK. I feel like giving up and throwing in the towel with the attitude of, "It's not for me. If it takes this much work to get this score on the LSAT, then I'll never make it through the first year of Law School".

What am I doing wrong? Thanks for your help.

spark1330

Re: Why can't I improve my LSAT Score?

Postby spark1330 » Mon May 24, 2010 11:53 pm

How many PTs have you taken and how exactly are you reviewing them?

Rikkugrrl

Postby Rikkugrrl » Mon May 24, 2010 11:57 pm