stuck in the mid 140s

northwood

stuck in the mid 140s

Postby northwood » Sun May 16, 2010 5:34 pm

I have been studying actively for the past 2 months, and after taking 6 full length practice exams, I am still scoring the same as I did the first time I took the test, ( 145- no studying at all)... Any suggestions as to how to best tackle this thing, other than to give up, take the test and forget about law school. Thanks!

Tautology

Re: stuck in the mid 140s

Postby Tautology » Sun May 16, 2010 5:39 pm

Can you give us an idea of what kinds of problems you're having? Are you running out of time on every section, do you consistently think you know the right answer only to find out it's wrong, do you just not understand on a lot of questions? Also, what have you been doing to study? We could give better advice if we knew what it was you have been doing.

cinefile 17

Postby cinefile 17 » Sun May 16, 2010 5:40 pm

I definitely recommend taking a course or getting some tutoring. If you're scoring that low (and even after studying), you're obviously missing some really essential things, and a course would probably be the best/easiest way for you to learn what these things are. Go with Testmasters or Powerscore, not Kaplan.

Aro5389

Postby Aro5389 » Sun May 16, 2010 5:52 pm

Last edited by Aro5389 on Sun Oct 06, 2013 10:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Concept2

Postby Concept2 » Sun May 16, 2010 6:17 pm

Go w/ Testmasters, In my opinion the methodology they use is far superior to the other programs. I actually sat in on a Kaplan course before choosing T.M. and was not impressed. My diagnostic was a 146 and I eventually scored (after 3 months) a 159, not outstanding but that was after ONLY going to the courses. I basically skipped the at home study to my detriment. The courses were fantastic and the teachers are young and energetic.

joemoviebuff

Postby joemoviebuff » Sun May 16, 2010 6:33 pm