PT 14, Sect 1, Q1-6 Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
kmarks

New

PT 14, Sect 1, Q1-6

Post by kmarks » Fri May 14, 2010 7:13 am

The entire first game stumped me today! :oops:

LG is my strongest section, and its rare for me to get a game that really trips me up (my only source of pride during these dreadfully long hours of LSAT studying). BUT! today, I opened PT 14 and for whatever reason, something just wasn't clicking. After 30 minutes of trial and error, I was finally able to answer all six questions but, obviously, that's too much time. I read through the Kaplan explanations but its still not making sense, for whatever reason.

Would anyone be willing to help me out? Provide another explanation that might help? ANYTHING?

Thanks so much!!

Aro5389

New

Re: PT 14, Sect 1, Q1-6

Post by Aro5389 » Fri May 14, 2010 9:12 am

Okay, this is my first time posting on this board and I know we can't post questions, so I'm not sure how it works but I'm assuming it's not breaking rules to explain.

So from what you said, the whole game is kinda iffy to you so the main thing that helped me get a good understanding of this game was grasping the rules. I also went over Kaplan explanations and the key is to know that the game can ONLY take a 1-1-3 format or a 1-2-2. F must be a technician, and G must be either a manager or the President. So we get something like:

A. (G) - ( _ ) - ( F _ _ )
B. ( _ ) - (G) - ( F _ _ )

OR

C.(G) - ( _ _ ) - ( F _ )
D.( _ ) - ( G _ ) - ( F _ ) <----- this can't work because G can't be manager in this scenario, see question 3.

So from that you can basically start applying rules to the different setups. The main thing to remember is each employee is supervised by someone except president and each employee supervises someone except technicians. Here is where I think people get messed up (or at least I did): PRESIDENT CAN SUPERVISE TECHNICIANS!

So rolling through the questions...