Read this if you suck at RC, how can I be a better/faster?

lawschoolisfun2012

Read this if you suck at RC, how can I be a better/faster?

Postby lawschoolisfun2012 » Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:15 am

June 2010 LSATers,

Regarding RC, I am really slow and I usually miss a few questions, unless I really slow down and re-read every sentence. There doesn't seem to be a good strategy for reading comp that works. Testmasters, the course I am taking now, just said it is the hardest section to improve on and takes time. Kaplan helped by introducing keywords, scope shifts, and 180 answer choices. But, what really works for reading comp? I am not going to read the economist for 12 months and take the LSAT in 5 years after reading in my spare time. I am an engineer and I suck at reading. Advice?

Thank you!

tttlllsss

Re: Read this if you suck at RC, how can I be a better/faster?

Postby tttlllsss » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:08 pm

RC tests skills that you should have acquired over many years in school. For this reason, it's the most difficult section to improve quickly, and I don't think there's an easy way out; you must invest considerable time/effort. As far as I know, there's no study guide that can make things just 'click' for you.

Read dense, technical material every day and while you read it make sure you're identifying:
- The main idea of the passage
- The author's tone (e.g. pessimistic/wary/optimistic/cautious, etc.)
- The author's attitude toward any arguments in the passage
- What the purpose of each paragraph is (e.g. why does parag 2 follow parag 1, what is the point of parag 2, etc.)
- Unique words that stand out, that are used repeatedly, or that are central to the argument

If you're diligent, your work should payoff

blhblahblah

Postby blhblahblah » Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:45 pm

The title of this thread is puzzling. You want people who suck at RC to offer you advice on how to improve? k.

DGLitcH

Postby DGLitcH » Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:23 pm