Feb test takers, what was your study method, what

janetrey

Feb test takers, what was your study method, what

Postby janetrey » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:18 pm

went well and what would you do differently if you could?

If you used a prep company and want to give a thumbs up or down that would be great too.

OHKC42

Re: Feb test takers, what was your study method, what

Postby OHKC42 » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:44 pm

I took the Feb test. Started studying the week ater Thanksgiving. I took a diagnostic (157) that was proctored by Kaplan about two weeks before I started studying (check your school, because Kaplan might offer one there, too,) and then a practice test every Friday until the week of the exam. I would go over my test and try to figure out why I got each problem wrong that I got wrong, and then I would use books to find tips and drills on those sections. I used Princeon Review and Powerscore books...the Logic Games Bible is great. I studied about 2 hours a day, usually taking Sundays off. I also took the Powerscore weekend class the last week of January and thought it was helpful.

When you're taking practice tests, use real, previosly administered tests, time them under real conditions (and use an analog watch,) don't take them in dead silence, and always keep extra tests to pull single sections from. Do one of the extras as Section 1, 2, or 3 (because that is always when the experimental is.) Taking a five section test is different than a four section test, and the practice tests only have four sections, so you'll haveto find your own "experimental."

Oh, and I scored 97th percentile, if you want an idea of how this improved my score...157-->169.

vampy

Postby vampy » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:07 pm