How do I break into 170's?

Confused&Pissed

How do I break into 170's?

Postby Confused&Pissed » Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:04 pm

I am currently studying to write the June LSAT and can't consistently score in the 170's. My pt range is 168-175, but the average is about 170. I usually score -0 to -1 on games, -0 to -4 on RC, and like -8 on combined LR. I have the PS LR Bible, but I honestly think it's overly complicated. When I review the LR sections I understand why I got the answers I missed wrong, and feel like an idiot for picking the wrong AC. I'm thinking about doing the Blueprint Movie, but I think studying the next couple months might be enough. Please offer any advice or tools which might help me...Ty in advance.

starstruck393

Re: How do I break into 170's?

Postby starstruck393 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:08 pm

Do all the PT's. I didn't use all of the PS tips, just used it to supplement my weaknesses, for instance on why answers that seemed right weren't. If you can consistently understand why you're missing those LR questions, I've gotta believe that after enough practice, the light will click on and you'll stop getting so many initially wrong...

Mr. Pablo

Postby Mr. Pablo » Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:27 pm

This is going to sound like bad advice:

Stop studying for a couple of weeks. Do something to keep your mind off of the LSAT (nearly impossible, I know). I had to stop for a few weeks when I was studying, and when I came back to it I was testing 4 or 5 points higher on average (from mid 160s average to low 170s average, 170 final score).
I am not sure if the break is what really did it, but when I started PTing again, I felt like I came at it with a better idea of what the testers considered a credited response. I felt like something had clicked in my study intermission.
Just my thoughts.

thunder 85

Postby thunder 85 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:45 pm