Prep Test #19, Section 1 Game 3

psteele99
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 7:04 pm

Prep Test #19, Section 1 Game 3

Postby psteele99 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:03 pm

Rule 2 states: If F is in boat 2, then G must also be in boat 2.

I made a mistake thinking: F does not have to be in boat 2 if G is in boat 2, however G MUST be in boat 2 if F is in boat 2.

The Kaplan explanation states that the contrapositive is that G cannot be in boat 2 if F is not in boat 2.

Here is where I get confused...

In basic linear games, while working through the LGB, I learned and burned into my mind that rules which say:

If G is in slot 3 then Q is in slot 4. BUT, Q can be in slot 4 without G being in slot 3.

Can someone help me out here... I have made a lot of progress on my games and I am frustrated that I misinterpreted this rule. I have re-read the bible sections that apply here and I still can't figure this out.

I am re-taking in June so any help here would be very appreciated.

r6_philly
Posts: 10707
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:32 pm

Re: Prep Test #19, Section 1 Game 3

Postby r6_philly » Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:19 pm

your interpretion sounds correct. But I don't have that book with me, I will look at it when I get home.

NewtonLied
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:16 pm

Re: Prep Test #19, Section 1 Game 3

Postby NewtonLied » Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:21 pm

j
Last edited by NewtonLied on Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

psteele99
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 7:04 pm

Re: Prep Test #19, Section 1 Game 3

Postby psteele99 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:27 pm

well, it sounds then, like my interpretation was correct after all... still doesn't explain why i missed four of the questions in game 3 :oops: i'll have to reevaluate and look more closely.

thanks for the help!




Return to “LSAT Prep and Discussion Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CHyde, Macallan, yellowavcable and 10 guests