RC harder if you know the a lot about thet topic?

dajja15

RC harder if you know the a lot about thet topic?

Postby dajja15 » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:53 am

I was wondering if anyone thought that its actually harder if you know the topic of the RC passage really well. I have only taken one PT so I can't compare it to anything, but I did pretty bad on an RC about dark matter. I am doing my senior project on Dark Matter and I have been doing research on it for two years. I just kept getting distracting and disagreeing with the article. I read a lot and I got perfect on the RC on the ACT, so I was hoping to do pretty well, but I think I got like 8 wrong. Anyone else experience this?! Just curious.

februaryftw

Re: RC harder if you know the a lot about thet topic?

Postby februaryftw » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:59 am

dajja15 wrote:I was wondering if anyone thought that its actually harder if you know the topic of the RC passage really well. I have only taken one PT so I can't compare it to anything, but I did pretty bad on an RC about dark matter. I am doing my senior project on Dark Matter and I have been doing research on it for two years. I just kept getting distracting and disagreeing with the article. I read a lot and I got perfect on the RC on the ACT, so I was hoping to do pretty well, but I think I got like 8 wrong. Anyone else experience this?! Just curious.

This has definitely happened to me on a few passages where I have quite a bit of knowledge on the subject. There can be a few things going on, I think. I had the same problem of disagreeing with the article. Also sometimes it is easier to assume you read something in the passage which you just inferred because you know the material from outside sources. The main problem for me is that outside knowledge seems to hurt because it can cause you to lose focus on the exact words of the stimulus.

reebtoor

Postby reebtoor » Mon Feb 08, 2010 1:01 am