italian lawyer + jd

ciolellina

italian lawyer + jd

Postby ciolellina » Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:14 am

Hi!
I'm an italian lawyer with an italian JD.
I've been thinking a lot about attending a JD program in the US (I thought about NU two-years JD program for international students), but what scares me the most is the LSAT score I have to get.
My english is decent, and I thought I could come to Chicago for about 7 months to study both for TOEFL and LSAT test.
Do you think it could be enough for a non-native speaker?
Do you have an idea about international studens' scores in the LSAT test?
Thank you so much!

pleasetryagain

Re: italian lawyer + jd

Postby pleasetryagain » Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:25 am

this type of Italian?
--ImageRemoved--
or this type of Italian?
--ImageRemoved--

Massimiliano

Postby Massimiliano » Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:32 am

di dove sei in italia?

I've always thought the LSAT would be brutal for somebody whose first language is not english. Have you taken a diagnostic yet?

ciolellina

Postby ciolellina » Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:55 pm

I'm from Milano and I'm not Pavarotti :lol:

It's not that easy, the most difficult thing seems to be the timing.

I havent taken a serious simulation yet, I was planning to study first and then test my preparation.

Massimiliano are you italian?

los blancos

Postby los blancos » Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:12 pm

Well, from your typing, your english seems to be good. But yeah, I would think the timing would kill you, especially RC. It's possible to become a faster reader but I'm not sure if it can happen in that timeframe significantly enough to help you do well on the LSAT.

FWIW, though, if you manage a decent score, I wouldn't be shocked if you got into schools you wouldn't get into otherwise (i.e., you may not need a 170 for NU). You're different than virtually every other applicant they get. That said, this is all speculation and I know nothing.

How is NU's reputation in Europe, by the way?

jarofsoup