Does the LGB over classify?

poo

Does the LGB over classify?

Postby poo » Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:58 am

I am just beginning to study and have heard from some that the LGB over classifies the games (eg there is not a big difference between the different type of basic linear games). I am not sure if it is solid advice to categorize broader so I just wanted to get some advice from people who have already taken the test.

Also, if the best way to study is to exactly follow the LGB, does anyone have a list of the games categorized by all the types in the LGB (instead of by date)?

Thanks!

skip james

Re: Does the LGB over classify?

Postby skip james » Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:37 am

yup. and i also only liked their basic linear games strategy, nothing else.

jpSartre

Postby jpSartre » Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:26 am

I think grouping games are well classified. What kinda strategy do you use for those james?

lawduder

Postby lawduder » Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:53 am

poo wrote:I am just beginning to study and have heard from some that the LGB over classifies the games (eg there is not a big difference between the different type of basic linear games). I am not sure if it is solid advice to categorize broader so I just wanted to get some advice from people who have already taken the test.

Also, if the best way to study is to exactly follow the LGB, does anyone have a list of the games categorized by all the types in the LGB (instead of by date)?

Thanks!

This is not the best way to study. The LGB is an excellent guide when starting out logic games, but you'll need to adapt it to your own method as well. Last couple of tests have had a game that read like it was meant to intentionally mess up people who adhere strictly to the LGB. Once you're completely comfortable with games, you won't need to 'classify' a game before you start, you'll just know what to do.

UTexas

Postby UTexas » Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:31 pm

Yes.

cubswin

Postby cubswin » Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:39 pm