Retake?

jslom958

Retake?

Postby jslom958 » Sat Jan 02, 2010 9:33 pm

I scored a 164 on the December LSAT, and although it is a decent score, I still feel dissatisfied. My goal was at least a 167 to have a shot at Cornell, though my last four PTs before the December test were 157, 158, 163, and 167. My overall PT average was about 163. Should I retake?

UTexas

Re: Retake?

Postby UTexas » Sat Jan 02, 2010 9:58 pm

I'd certainly think about it. How much time did you spend preparing? What materials did you use? Did you take any prep courses? Over what span of time did you take those four PTs? How many PTs did you take in total?

jslom958

Postby jslom958 » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:14 pm

I started studying in July, spending about six hours a day studying during the summer and around four hours a day since school began. Over that time, I used both the LG bible and the LR bible. I completed Blueprint's online course starting in October and found it beneficial. Those last four PTs were taken four days in a row over Thanksgiving break. Overall, I probably took about 20 or so PTs.

Am I masochistic for thinking about retaking considering that I have little interest in NYC biglaw and would be happy to attend a T30 like Boston University?

BenJ

Postby BenJ » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:18 pm

Doing that well relative to your PTs probably means you don't have a whole lot of room to improve. Even if you do improve, it won't be by more than 2-3 points, which probably isn't worth having two LSAT scores on your applications. It seems like you're studying very rigorously already. The one reason to take it again would be if you think you could gain a lot by changing your method of studying; just doing more of the same isn't going to make a difference beyond the margin of error.

jslom958

Postby jslom958 » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:58 pm