Lawyer Hours Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
mormondem32

New

Lawyer Hours

Post by mormondem32 » Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:46 pm

While I want to pursue a career in law, I find most joy and satisfaction in life through spending time with friends, and especially family. Unfortunately, research I have done suggests that as a lawyer I would typically find myself working 70-80+ hours a week to keep my billable hours up to par. This is unappealing given that I would prefer working 60 or less hours a week.

Is it possible to have a career in law while still having a decent family and social life? Do certain sectors have more flexible hours that allow for this?

dresq

Bronze

Re: Lawyer Hours

Post by dresq » Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:49 pm

mormondem32 wrote:While I want to pursue a career in law, I find most joy and satisfaction in life through spending time with friends, and especially family. Unfortunately, research I have done suggests that as a lawyer I would typically find myself working 70-80+ hours a week to keep my billable hours up to par. This is unappealing given that I would prefer working 60 or less hours a week.

Is it possible to have a career in law while still having a decent family and social life? Do certain sectors have more flexible hours that allow for this?
Government, for one.

DelDad

Bronze

Post by DelDad » Sun Oct 19, 2008 5:20 pm

If your goal is 60ish hours per week, with occasional weeks busier than that, you certainly can find firms where this is possible. Not often at New York market rate ($160/yr), but easily at $145/yr. If you go to one of these firms in a secondary market, you may find that the cost of living reduction more than makes up for the lower salary.

If your goal is 40 hours per week, a firm job (even at a small firm) is probably not the way to go.