Patent Bar Preparation Materials? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
amyLAchemist

New

Patent Bar Preparation Materials?

Post by amyLAchemist » Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:30 pm

I am planning to take the patent bar within the next year. I have looked over the application information and plan to submit my application quite soon. I am a PhD student at UCLA in Chemistry now and graduating next June, plan to begin law school in Fall 2009 (just took the LSAT).

However, I am puzzled by how to prepare for the patent bar exam. There seems to be a HUGE variation in price among patent bar prep courses/material providers. Barbri was almost 2,000 for home study, while others were 600!

I would prefer to prepare on my own at home (full time employed and a grad student). Which companies offer the most reliable prep materials? Is there one that is typically used more than others?

Also, howlong before application should studying begin? I see that after submitting the application for registration, it takes about 3 months, and then once you are approved, you are 90 days to register at a prometric testing site.

I am little clueless on this, so any help is appreciated! :) Thanks!!

gravity

New

Re: Patent Bar Preparation Materials?

Post by gravity » Tue Jun 24, 2008 6:10 pm

amyLAchemist wrote:I see that after submitting the application for registration, it takes about 3 months
damn.. is this true? then i'm screwed.. :(

i heard 2 weeks.. i wanted to take the test in 3 weeks, so i turned in my app a few days ago..

i'm using patbar.com prep material... it's not too bad i guess.. it was $795 i think

it has a book summarizing the MPEP, a book of questions, some charts, test simulation CD..

amyLAchemist

New

Post by amyLAchemist » Tue Jun 24, 2008 6:24 pm

Ok, maybe 2 weeks is true, I don't know. I just read in the thing on the uspto website that an application should be filed 3 months before scheduled date of examination.