UC Hastings v. UC Davis v. University of Washington Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
cocoleigh

New

UC Hastings v. UC Davis v. University of Washington

Post by cocoleigh » Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:26 pm

Hi all, I'd really appreciate any feedback.

I graduated from UC Berkeley in 2016 with honors - got a mediocre LSAT score (and chose to just apply rather than take the LSAT again). I am now faced with a decision of choosing between UC Hastings, UC Davis, and U Washington.

I'm sort of semi-committed to UC Hastings - my parents live in Berkeley so I'd be saving $15,000 a year by living with them (which makes Hastings and Davis attractive options...especially Hastings since it's shorter commute).

I know that Hastings (ranked 58) and Davis (ranked 37) are peer schools despite the gap in ranking so somewhat interchangeable. I didn't receive financial aid to any of the three schools. Washington is ranked the best (32) but I'd suffer more in terms of debt, being away from family/friends, etc. since I can't benefit from saving rent with my parents.

My ultimate goal would be to transfer to Berkeley Boalt after 1L. Though, I know I shouldn't count on transferring.

Can anyone offer any insight on this decision?

kengh

Bronze

Re: UC Hastings v. UC Davis v. University of Washington

Post by kengh » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:19 pm

uc davis. but u really should retake LSAT. worth it in long run

northwood

Platinum

Post by northwood » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:36 pm

Since your goal is to transfer after 1L you shukdneetske and not matriculate. It’s very hard to do well enough to transfer to your target school ( and if you do you will be paying sticker). But it’s possible to improve on he lsat especially since you admitted you have a mediocre score).

Questions123

New

Post by Questions123 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:44 pm