How hard is it to get employed after graduating from a T14, as an international?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
BlueBirdFlies

How hard is it to get employed after graduating from a T14, as an international?

Postby BlueBirdFlies » Mon Jan 02, 2017 11:37 pm

I'm an international student, earning a degree from an American uni. I'm planning to apply to the T14 law schools, but I wanted to know what the employment stats are for internationals specifically? As far as I'm aware, my F-1 visa will have to be converted into an H1-B, which the company will need to sponsor. Do big firms typically sponsor internationals from the top schools?

galeatus

Re: How hard is it to get employed after graduating from a T14, as an international?

Postby galeatus » Mon Jan 02, 2017 11:47 pm

BlueBirdFlies wrote:I'm an international student, earning a degree from an American uni. I'm planning to apply to the T14 law schools, but I wanted to know what the employment stats are for internationals specifically? As far as I'm aware, my F-1 visa will have to be converted into an H1-B, which the company will need to sponsor. Do big firms typically sponsor internationals from the top schools?

In short, yes. You will encounter more difficulties compared to the US citizens in OCI as there are a fair few firms out there who can't really be bothered to sponsor H1Bs, but as long as you have good grades and a likable personality (or at least are good at interviews) then you should still find good firms who are willing to sponsor your H1B and maybe even a green-card app a few years down the line.

I don't think exact employment stats are available but would be happy to be proved wrong.

(In the same boat as OP and did a little bit of research here and there, hoping that somebody with more authority on this issue can answer this in a better way)

BEng,MBA,FRM,JD(?)

Re: How hard is it to get employed after graduating from a T14, as an international?