Will not going to law school before hurt my chances now?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
MtnGinger

Will not going to law school before hurt my chances now?

Postby MtnGinger » Tue Nov 08, 2016 3:35 pm

I always thought I'd go to law school cause my family wanted me to be a dr but I hate anything biology so I figured a lawyer would be the next best thing. Jr. year of college I took the LSAT and did well. I got into a few t14 and eventually decided on t15 because of a great scholarship. Admittedly at that point I was going to law school for the wrong reasons.

I ended up deferring for reasons but then the next year when I came time to go I just withdrew because of all the lawyers and judges I knew who kept telling me not to go. I've been working full time since undergrad in my field. I'm now a CPA and after taking time off I still can't shake the idea of law school. I now have a very focused idea of what I want to do and have identified 4 schools that would give me as close to certain chance of achieving these goals as possible. I'm wondering if I apply next year to only these schools ( I only applied to 1 of them the first time) will my previous withdraw hurt me. Also do I put it as a withdraw or not because I withdrew before classes began.

cavalier1138

Re: Will not going to law school before hurt my chances now?

Postby cavalier1138 » Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:53 pm

You cannot say that you have a very focused idea of what you want to do and then not say what that idea is.

At least it seems like you aren't going to law school to avoid going to med school, but you need to be specific about what your goals are and where you're applying. And I doubt UT (there's no such thing as T15, just use the name) is going to hold your withdrawal against you. I also wouldn't apply to only four schools, because there's no benefit to that, even if you think you know exactly what field you want to practice in.

MtnGinger

Postby MtnGinger » Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:24 pm