Take a Curved Class with Part-Time Students for Better Grade Distributions Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
goodman1

New

Take a Curved Class with Part-Time Students for Better Grade Distributions

Post by goodman1 » Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:05 pm

Hello,

I am a transfer student at a new law school. I am coming in with 30 1L credits which will be awarded to me. However, there is a 1L class that I did not take at my old law school which is generally accepted as a 1L class for all law schools (con law). I have to take con law either this semester (Fall 2016) or Spring (2017) in order to graduate.

At the new law school it is a 4 credit hour class offered the second semester (Spring of academic year) to incoming 1Ls. However, part-time students take it the next academic year after their incoming year in the fall (Fall 2016). Thus, I have the option to take con law now with the part-time students or next year with actual 1Ls.

There is only one class for con law now for the part-time students. I bet with 1L's next year it's going to be more than one class and section, so there will be a stronger curve. We usually admit 230 1L's a year and have about 2-3 sections. I am also assuming it is well-known that con law is a curved class in general. So, would it be better to take it now with only one class available, or would it be better to take it when the actual 1L's take it with more than one section and class in place? Which one will help me beat the curve? Will I be compared against the 1Ls if I choose not to take it now? Also note that if I take it next semester (Spring 2017), I'll be sitting in one class full of 1L's, so it will be kind of weird. I am considered a 2L at the new law school.
Last edited by goodman1 on Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bwh8813

Bronze

Re: Transfer Student Take a Curved Class with Part-Time Students

Post by bwh8813 » Fri Jul 22, 2016 2:01 pm

goodman1 wrote:Hello,