Disclosing schools attended

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
n_lem

New

Disclosing schools attended

Postby n_lem » Sat Jun 11, 2016 1:27 am

Hi all, looking for a little guidance here. I'm a student in my thirties who just finished up undergrad and I'm applying to law school this fall. My problem is that I spent a number of years screwing around in different colleges prior to getting my degree at the one I graduated from. Although I absolutely killed it grade-wise over the past four years and graduated suma with a double major, the way the LSDAS is set up my LSDAS GPA would honestly probably be around a 1.5 because of my community college grades. So here's my quandary: I didn't transfer any of those grades in, so in that sense my transcript looks clear and there are no links to my past grades, so I was considering just not disclosing that I had attended the other schools. I did hear something about a clearinghouse that schools could look at that shows an applicant's financial aid history that I guess could clue a law school in in the event that their financial aid office looked at it and alerted the admissions office, but I'm not sure whether that's likely to happen. Let me be clear and say that I really dislike the idea of being somewhat dishonest here, but I just don't see that I have any other choice. Regardless of my grades, recommendations, and LSAT score (which I haven't taken yet, so this might all be a moot point anyway), schools are just going to toss my application without even looking at it, regardless of the fact that I've matured and done extremely more recently. So my questions are as follows:

-Are law schools likely to catch this? (Is it even worth trying?)
-I read something at one point that indicated that something like this might be caught at the point where the bar determines your eligibility, is this likely?