The straight talk: how bad of an idea is an LL.M. for me? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
legal_qq

New

The straight talk: how bad of an idea is an LL.M. for me?

Post by legal_qq » Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:36 am

Hey guys. Question: I am American but went abroad for my legal education due to my dual citizenship. I came out with no loans so that's good. I'm a qualified attorney and I've been working at one of the Netherlands' top firms for 3 years, and I believe I was very highly ranked in my school (top 5% or similar the last time I checked). I also hold an undergraduate degree in Italian law, so I am well versed on many aspects of European Union law (not sure if this makes me an attractive employee for U.S. international firms).

I want to return to the U.S. and practice law sometime in the future, possibly within the next three years or so. To do that, I have to take a 1 year conversion LL.M. I wanted to know if it's worth the high price to try to go to a school like NYU or Columbia or if I should just do the cheapest LL.M. possible and try to find work laterally rather than based on my education (I know NYU and Columbia have meets and greets with companies) and if I'd be at least able to find some semblance of work afterwards. The idea of taking out exorbitant student loans really bothers me - if I go back to the U.S. in three or four years, who knows how expensive those places will be? 100k isn't out of the realm of possibility.

Basically it all hinges upon one question: do I want to put myself into debt for a very highly ranked LL.M., given my work experience and education, as a "bet" on finding work in NYC (my hometown)? Or do I just go to any ole LL.M. program in the interest of sitting the NY bar and hope I can swing a job in NY with my resume (work in an international firm)?

Any opinions--even negative ones--would be appreciated. Be as brutal as you wanna be. Thanks!

legal_qq

New