Acquiring a Minor vs. Higher GPA Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
SeveC

New

Acquiring a Minor vs. Higher GPA

Post by SeveC » Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:25 pm

Hi. I'm new here, I'm not sure if this is the correct subforum for me to be asking these questions but here it goes. I also surfed Google for a bit and didn't really find anything satisfactory. Anyways:

So I'm an undergrad junior, and I plan on taking the LSAT and going to law school once I graduate next year. I just had a quick question about GPA/ potentially getting a minor. Right now, I'm an English major and I know that's a pretty beneficial major for law school. However, next semester (Fall 2015), I have enough room in my schedule in terms of registering for classes to "play around" a bit. I'm already ahead enough on working towards my main degree that there's no classes offered next semester that I need.

My adviser thinks that picking up a minor might be a good idea since I'll have so much freedom in scheduling my classes next semester but I wasn't sure if that would be the best idea? In terms of admissions, does it look better to have a minor? For example, I was thinking in terms of next semester to just schedule 5 100-level core classes, which given my track record are always without fail easy A's or B+'s. Obviously classes required for a minor are a bit tougher and I can't really guarantee myself getting at least an A or B+ in them (probably a B or B+, maybe an A if I'm lucky)

So that's my dilemma basically. Is is better to spend my last year of undergrad under constant pressure of getting 8 200-300 level classes classes under my belt to acquire a minor (in Political Science or Spanish since I already have dabbled a bit with those in years past) or would it be a better idea to just take a lot of 100 level, kind of superficial classes (like say, Intro to French, Art Appreciation, College Algebra, etc.) in order to up my GPA without fail?