Is it even worth it? (PI salary)

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Finnpower

Is it even worth it? (PI salary)

Postby Finnpower » Thu Mar 12, 2015 6:25 pm

Hey TLS.

I got the feels today about law school. I currently work in the tech industry in sales and I just had a killer month- I made $7000 this month alone, and will probably top 80k this year. I have experienced first hand the cool perks of the tech industry- generous paid time off, food, benefits, everything even though I fell into the tech world almost by accident. A law career is looking worse and worse every day. I have a friend who works in DC big law and is averaging 60-80 hours a week and he absolutely hates his job. Plus if I apply this year I would be pushing 30 by the time I start classes so big law is probably out anyway. I have been thinking about going to law school for the past 5 or so years, but every time I look at Biglaw I want to puke.

However, I have some background in PI work and I loved it. I have worked for several non-profits, and another place that dealt with low income individuals. All my experience is college is oriented that way too. I don't know if its crazy or not, but I sorta have the ambitions of the "save the world" type.

But I got all depressed today when I looked at this:

http://www.law.nyu.edu/careerservices/e ... statistics

Even if I got into a place like NYU and did a median PI type (most likely, even 75th is just 54k) job I would be thousands in debt (maybe 150,000+ in debt)..... but all for what? 3 years of my life gone and to cut my salary in half? I realize no one can answer existential questions like what is more worth it for me- money or making a difference, but looking for some feedback on PI salaries and mid range career outcomes. I am thinking heavily about starting my own non-profit since that math is looking more attractive than law school.

Please help, feeling all weirded out today about possibly abandoning my long term goals.

#caltrash