How easy is it to defer from a T14 and get a job? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
throwaway1901

New

How easy is it to defer from a T14 and get a job?

Post by throwaway1901 » Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:16 am

I'm applying this cycle and I'm pretty optimistic about being accepted into some good schools. Unfortunately, I have no substantive work experience going into law school and hope to change that if possible. My undergrad is far from prestigious, and honestly the job opportunities coming from here are bleak. However, I would imagine that if I apply to law-related jobs with a degree and an acceptance to a T14 in hand I might be successful in finding a one-year gig to get me some experience in the field. Is this likely to be the case?

Bronze

Post by 06162014123 » Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:13 am

Last edited by 06162014123 on Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

PepperJack

Silver

Re: How easy is it to defer from a T14 and get a job?

Post by PepperJack » Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:10 am

The people who do teach for America do well at OCI.

Winter is Coming

Bronze

Post by Winter is Coming » Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:53 am

Just personal experience, but I basically mass mailed a ton of Biglaw firms and prosecutors offices the spring on my senior year of undergrad. I had a pretty decent GPA but knew I needed to get my LSAT up and wanted to make sure I knew what I was getting into trying to be a lawyer.

Without exception, every firm and office wanted me to make an informal two-year commitment to working there. It doesn't make sense for them to train you if you're going to work less than that.

With that said, I would recommend working for a little, especially if you don't really know what legal work is like. I was one of those "always wanted to be a lawyer" types but figured out exactly what I wanted to do by working closely with attorneys.

Full Disclosure: I'm an 0L, deciding between lower T14 schools (and massive debt) at the moment :wink:

Chekhov'sGun