How will an online degree and CLEP credits be viewed?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
DebtAverse

How will an online degree and CLEP credits be viewed?

Postby DebtAverse » Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:45 pm

I've been lurking on the forums for a few months now and finally decided to join! This seems like a great community, and I am looking forward to joining discussions and learning more about the admissions process. I am an undergrad senior planning to apply to law schools this fall.

From what I have read on the forums, it seems that a good GPA is a good GPA, regardless of major or school. I am still a bit concerned though, since I did my first two years of college through CLEP exams and transferred to an online degree program to finish. I have a 4.0, but I am concerned that it may not be weighed equally with 4.0s from highly ranked, brick-and-mortar schools.

Should I be at all concerned about this? When I am writing applications essays should I focus on explaining my reasoning for choosing to do undergrad online and through CLEPs?

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by DebtAverse on Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

cron1834

Re: How will online degree and CLEP credits be viewed?

Postby cron1834 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:59 pm

I can't speak to law admissions, but I know that it hurts you in grad admissions (fairly, imho). Law admissions are different, though - if USNWR allows them to report a uGPA like yours in the same manner as any other uGPA, then you might be okay.

Everyone is going to tell you that this makes the LSAT doubly important, which sounds about right.

twenty

Postby twenty » Thu Feb 06, 2014 7:12 pm

Make sure you have at least 60 graded credits, or LSAC will not calculate your 4.0.

This was my mistake, and I've paid for it dearly.

spleenworship

Postby spleenworship » Thu Feb 06, 2014 7:21 pm