how would LSAC interpret grades such as these? Please help

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
hopeful4lawschool

how would LSAC interpret grades such as these? Please help

Postby hopeful4lawschool » Tue Nov 19, 2013 2:02 pm

Alright, I am an undergraduate student close to graduation and I have a low, low gpa 2.37, but a 176 on the LSAT. When I had an appointment today with an academic advisor she informed me of a course repeat policy at the University, that she thought might help when sending in transcripts to LSAC. (I doubt it will help me, and in fact, I am asking to see if it would hurt me)

At my school, if you take a leave of absence for 2 semesters, there is an academic forgiveness policy that states the following in the University guidelines (see below) ...

"If the students maintain a GPA of at least 3.00 through the term that encompasses the 15th hour of graded coursework after returning to the university, the Academic Forgiveness Policy shall be implemented and the following steps taken with regard to the students' academic record:

All courses in which grades of C-, D+, D, F, NF, SF, M or U were received in the previous period of enrollment will be retained on the academic transcript with the notation of an "E" in the repeat column, which denotes courses excluded from GPA calculation, and the official grade will be changed to X* (e.g., XC-, XD, etc.), which denotes academic forgiveness.
All cumulative calculations of hours attempted, quality points earned and cumulative GPA also will be adjusted"

Now my questions:

1). If I take my leave of absence and return to the University, even though the original grade will be changed to example XC- and wont be calculated in the gpa, will LSAC still count the C- because its on the transcript with an X in front of it? And
2). These are C- grades, but will LSAC count say the C- grades turned into an XC- as an F when computing LSAC gpa?

Id appreciate any help. Thanks!

Pneumonia