Foreign Languages

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
TrickyIktomi

Foreign Languages

Postby TrickyIktomi » Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:40 am

Hello TLS!

Well I am currently a sophomore with two more years of school ahead of me and I'm really trying to decide where to best allocate my time. My major is in French and I plan on going to law school straight after and I'm aiming for T-14. Would it be wise to sharpen my language skills in Spanish, Italian, and German to near fluency during my free time to have a significant boost in my app for law schools? Will this also sell me better on paper during OCI?

Also I'm really interested in taking a significant amount of philosophical, logical, and classical courses because, for one, I'm highly interested in the subjects and I believe that they will help me better myself as a person, thinker, and future lawyer. Does anyone have any history taking these classes in undergrad and, upon graduating law school and securing a job, helped him/her out as I previously stated?

TigerDude

Re: Foreign Languages

Postby TigerDude » Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:22 pm

you haven't said what you want to do.

Spanish will be more useful in the US than your other options (including French). Next would probably be Mandarin or another Asian language.

Carlo Von Sexron

Postby Carlo Von Sexron » Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:04 pm

1) Some foreign languages are more in-demand in others. Spanish is one of them, in the U.S. German is a good one for EU-related practice. Fluency in any foreign language is always a good thing to put on your resume.
2) Your undergrad coursework will not help you get a law job, unless you're planning on becoming a patent attorney.
3) Bettering yourself as a person has nothing to do with success in law school or lawyerdom.

Redamon1

Postby Redamon1 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:01 pm