Patent Law

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
shimmyr.n

Patent Law

Postby shimmyr.n » Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:53 pm

I am currently an Undergrad student in my second year seriously considering a career in law. I am also very science inclined and am strongly considering a career in patent law. I am trying to figure out what major might be best for someone considering patent law? Also, would majoring in Computer Science be a good major?

I am definitely more math/physics inclined than bio/chemistry

Thank you in advance for your answers

yot11

Re: Patent Law

Postby yot11 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:54 pm

Traditionally the hottest patent law majors are EE and ME. In recent times, CS has been very popular as well.

More importantly, pick the major that you like the best and will do well in.

mx23250

Postby mx23250 » Thu Oct 17, 2013 9:48 am

I'd also recommend EE or ME if you enjoy physics and math. You should also know that it would be in your best interest to attend grad school prior to law school if you intend on having the best career options possible. If you went bio/chem you would almost certainly need a PhD, but with EE or ME a masters degree would suffice. It's possible to do it with just a bachelor's, but even patent law is a competitive field and those with masters degrees would have a major advantage. Some big law firms will even require at least a masters degree in order to apply due to the number of applicants they get.

pmench31

Postby pmench31 » Thu Oct 17, 2013 12:00 pm

Depending on what law school you get into, EE/CS bachelors degree will leave you with more opportunities than anyone else you know in law school who is not EE/CS.

Dr. Review

Postby Dr. Review » Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:02 pm