Attorney taking questions on whether you should be a lawyer Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
anattorney

New

Attorney taking questions on whether you should be a lawyer

Post by anattorney » Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:14 pm

I have been practicing for 5 years. I see typical traits among classmates and more senior attorneys who "fit in" with practicing law and those who don't or who are actively looking to get out. This is not about the job market since that is discussed endlessly. This is about whether, assuming you can get a job, you would actually feel reasonable professional and personal fulfillment as an attorney.

Describe your personality, interests, priorities, life goals, etc. and I will help you assess whether being an attorney is a decent fit.

Danger Zone

Platinum

Re: Attorney taking questions on whether you should be a lawyer

Post by Danger Zone » Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:16 pm

I enjoy meaningless bullshit. Thoughts?

anattorney

New

Post by anattorney » Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:28 pm

There is ample room to pursue your love of meaningless bullshit in the law.

midwest17

Gold

Post by midwest17 » Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:30 pm

What kind of law do you practice? Or do you think your 5 years of experience is sufficient to judge whether people will do well as attorneys, no matter what specific career path they take?

anattorney

New

Post by anattorney » Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:38 pm

I practice family law currently. I was previously in biglaw/corporate. But yes, I think my experience is sufficient to have a good idea of whether people will do well as an attorney. It's not just my work experience but knowing a bunch of attorneys at various stages in their careers. There are pretty consistent characteristics between attorneys who really enjoy their jobs and those who don't.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

Danger Zone

Platinum

Post by Danger Zone » Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:42 pm