How does a 7 hour courseload look to law schools? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
gosox

New

How does a 7 hour courseload look to law schools?

Post by gosox » Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:17 pm

Hello,
I'm currently a sophomore completing my undergraduate degree. This semester, I've decided that I'd like to become an attorney, and have also changed my major. However, I changed my major after my school's initial drop/add period, so I'm stuck taking classes that correspond to my previous major.
I recently dropped one of those (it's considered a 7th week late drop at my school, and doesn't appear on my transcript at all, I just had to pay my scholarship back). I dropped it because it's known to be a notoriously difficult class and I didn't want to possibly lower my GPA, especially since it has nothing to do with my new major.
However, I'm still taking a calculus class, and after getting my first test grade back, it turns out I'm not doing as well as I thought I was. I'm very worried now because I really don't want to get a bad grade in calc. I could drop it, since the 7th week late drop period at my school is still going on until next Friday, but I then I would only have seven credit hours since calc is worth four.
How would this look to law schools? I don't have any extenuating circumstances for only having seven hours, I just don't want to hurt my GPA (it's currently a 3.5).

P.S. After the seventh week of classes, I could still drop, but I'd get a W on my transcript.

Thank you!

Nova

Platinum

Re: How does a 7 hour courseload look to law schools?

Post by Nova » Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:18 pm

It doesn't matter

Ti Malice

Gold

Post by Ti Malice » Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:22 pm

Can you switch calculus to P/F?

gosox

New

Post by gosox » Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:33 pm

Ti Malice wrote:Can you switch calculus to P/F?
Yes, I also have until next week to decide if I want to take it Pass/Fail. Do you recommend that over dropping?

typ3

Silver