Considering Part Time Law School...

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
pl1050

Considering Part Time Law School...

Postby pl1050 » Fri Aug 09, 2013 5:19 pm

Hi, I am considering part time law school. I graduated with a BBA in Finance in 2009 and have been working in the financial services industry since then. I am really looking to get in to law school so I can do consulting work, etc. within the financial services industry. I am considering PT law school so I can keep my professional job and continue to build my resume. I have a typical 8 - 5 full time work schedule but do have some flexibility with the company I work for.

I understand that there is a huge time commitment and I am prepared for that (i think). I am hoping that someone here has been in this same position and can share their experience with me. Just wondering what type of time I can expect to devote to school every week, etc.

Thanks!

Lumieres

Re: Considering Part Time Law School...

Postby Lumieres » Sat Aug 17, 2013 12:09 am

I also work an 8-5 schedule, but here's what my fall semester is looking like:

Monday, class from 6-9:30
Tuesday, class from 6-8:45
Wednesday, class from 6-7:30
Thursday, class from 6-9:00

I might be off an hour or two, but it is for 11 credits. No classes on Friday nights, thankfully.

Also, if you want to graduate in four years with your summers off, you definitely need to take a good amount of credits during fall and spring. Workload is tough and depends a lot on how demanding and stressful your job is. What do you do if a client wants something done by Monday morning, and you would typically work through the weekend to finish, but you have an exam the same Monday?

I would say just go full-time if you can afford to. Part-time should be a last resort kind of thing.

pl1050

Postby pl1050 » Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:55 pm