Education Law

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
jlloyd

Education Law

Postby jlloyd » Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:43 pm

I am currently a teacher, and plan on applying to law schools this upcoming cycle. I am really interested in education reform and policy, and also student advocacy. Ideally, I'd love to work for a nonprofit doing this kind of work. I know of a few nonprofits that specialize in this, but other than that I haven't been able to find much information. What I am most curious about is if there are any schools that would be best for this, and if there are certain paths to follow to achieve it. I have a 177 LSAT and 3.43 GPA, and I'm also unsure of how to work this goal into my application.

Any advice is greatly appreciated
Last edited by jlloyd on Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scotusnerd

Re: Education Law

Postby Scotusnerd » Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:53 pm

As a former teacher, I am absolutely amazed that anyone still enjoys the profession enough to want to have anything to do with it after getting the hell out.

Anyways, I'd make it a theme of your personal statement. Tell some crazy story from your teaching career.

As to education law...I know of one firm around here that has anything to do with education law. We also have an education journal at our law school. That's the extent of my knowledge, sorry. My guess is that most lawyerly contact with the public education field will be in the form of either working there and employment law. Possibly a firm that specializes in suing the government.

twenty

Postby twenty » Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:43 am

You're talking about, like, three different things in your post.