Study Abroad Fiasco Affecting Transcript/Grades

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
carloney

Study Abroad Fiasco Affecting Transcript/Grades

Postby carloney » Fri Jul 19, 2013 1:37 am

Hello all,
New to posting in the forums and I had a quick question.
I will give you some background info.

I was an exchange student in Brazil for 6 months during undergrad (which I am still in). I was sent to a school that I was assured would have the courses I needed and it did not. I was accidentally enrolled in a course that I was not supposed to be in and received a D. I am not this kind of student. The school would not remove the grade since I passed their deadline...even though I was not supposed to be in the class to begin with. It was only a one hour course so I've moved past that. The problem is that the school went on strike making it so I could not complete my courses (the D course was a short course so it finished) and as a result have 8 hours of "progress" on my transcript. I will take care of four hours of that before I apply to law school, but there will still be a random four hours of "progress" (PR) that will not disappear until I am holding my bachelor's degree at the end of Spring 2014.

Does anyone see this causing a problem? Is there a place on law school applications to explain a thing like this, an addendum or what have you?

Thank you for reading. I am sure that I will learn a lot from the forums and TLS.

CR2012

Re: Study Abroad Fiasco Affecting Transcript/Grades

Postby CR2012 » Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:58 am

If this problem persists at the time that you are filing your application you should submit an addendum explaining everything.

carloney

Postby carloney » Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:00 am

I'm just glad you confirmed that it is possible to submit and addendum. I hope this issue is addendum worthy. I would really like to avoid looking like I am making excuses.

Thank you for your reply btw

NYstate

Postby NYstate » Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:11 am