Making 60k/Part Time Law School

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Derivlaw

Currently work 60k job/Part-Time Law School

Postby Derivlaw » Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:14 pm

Hello everyone,

I have an undergrad in finance and economics, and I've been working for a financial regulatory firm for the past two years. My salary is 60k, and my job has great hours. My position involves working with futures, options, swaps financial regulation, so I've strongly considered making the next step towards becoming an attorney specializing in financials/capital markets. This could include being a counsel for a federal financial regulator (CFTC or SEC) or BigLaw.

However, given the horrific nature of the legal market, I don't think it would be wise of me to quit my job and attend law school (even if I get accepted into a top school). The market, coupled with the opportunity costs is pretty daunting. Thus, I wanted to see what people's thoughts were on attending part-time law school. I have my sights set on getting into Fordham Law part-time (since it's a decent program), which would allow me to keep my job and attend school. The main worry I have about this route is the enormous amount of work part-time law school appears to be, and the difficulty in participating in journal, etc which helps get these jobs. Don't get me wrong, I'm a hard worker, but I also don't want to kill myself for 4 years. Do you guys think this path would be worthwhile even under the probability that I don't make top quarter of my class. At the end of the day, I want to advance my career, and I have a strong interest in the financial regulatory world. I feel like lawyers play a big role in the process (civil suits, government policy, financial litigation, etc.)

Thanks for your help. Please provide me all of your thoughts.

Derivlaw

Postby Derivlaw » Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:18 pm

Hello everyone,