Will Lawyers' Employment Prospects Ever Pick Up? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
cl101

New

Will Lawyers' Employment Prospects Ever Pick Up?

Post by cl101 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:31 pm

I'm in undergrad and just now starting to explore the possibility of law. We have some lawyers in the family and I excel in writing and the humanities, with a particular interest in history, political science, business, etc. I'm a good student at a good university and feel confident I could perform pretty well on the LSAT with some intense studying (I've always done well on standardized tests, esp on the reading comprehension section).

Now, everyone has been telling me DON'T GO!!!! YOU WON'T GET A JOB!!!! I want a job in BigLaw, probably employment law. Of course, my ideas might change if I do end up in law school, but I know I don't really want to work in government or public interest. I'm assuming the primary reason the job market is so tough right now is because of the 2008-2009 economic downturn, but our economy does seem to be rebuilding now bit by bit. Do you expect the law employment market to improve over the next 5 years, or should I really reconsider this plan

Thanks for the help and sorry for my cluelessness. I'm a naive undergrad...have pity!

Randomnumbers

Bronze

Re: Will Lawyers' Employment Prospects Ever Pick Up?

Post by Randomnumbers » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:33 pm

lol.

cl101

New

Post by cl101 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:43 pm

Randomnumbers wrote:lol.