Patent Law

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Xixak

Patent Law

Postby Xixak » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:55 am

I'm currently majoring in Computer Science/Software Engineering and am really interested in working in patent law after graduation. I have a few questions about it though.

- How lucrative is patent law? Like do you still need to go to a T-14, or is it in high enough demand that a T1 or T2 even could get a high-paying job with good LS grades/WE?
- What do you have to do after law school to be eligible to become a patent lawyer?
- I've heard Silicon Valley is one of the best places to work as a patent lawyer, do they recruit primarily in-state or all over the USA?
- Also want to make sure that major makes me eligible for the patent bar? 99% sure it does, just checking?

mx23250

Re: Patent Law

Postby mx23250 » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:46 pm

If your computer science degree is from an accredited university you would qualify to take the patent bar exam, so yes, you would qualify to be a patent attorney.

T-14 is always a safe bet, but the demand for patent attorneys is generally greater than that of the attorney profession in general, especially in computer science/electrical engineering. You could still get a job with a T1 or T2 law degree, but you would want to pick the right T2 school if you went that route.

After law school you would take the standard bar but also the patent bar exam, which you must qualify for based on your undergrad degree.

I'm sure silicon valley recruits from all over, but I bet a large portion of their fresh hires come from berkley and stanford, both of which are clearly in-state with strong IP programs. Personally, I would probably take a T-14 out of state vs a T2 in cali.